Resources

A Bundle of Trusted Resources

Because we know that having quality resources at your fingertips makes parenting easier, we have put together our top recommendations to help you and your little one thrive during sleep training. Although Sugar Night Night is affiliated with some of these resources, we are not affiliated with all of them and we recommend that you complete your own research into service providers and product recalls.

Books

Loved to Sleep by Jen Varela and Andrea Strang

I have co-authored a book with Andrea Strang titled “Loved to Sleep.” The Loved to Sleep Method is a nurturing strategy in which you invest your time to reduce the amount of crying and improve sleep. Essentially, you are trading tears for time. This method is designed to give you the tools to assess what is right for your family. Not every family has the same expectations, or wants the same end result, with regards to how and where their baby sleeps and the Loved to Sleep Method is a gentle sleep coaching resource adaptable for your family’s specific needs.

The Sleep Lady’s Good Night, Sleep Tight: Gentle Proven Solutions to Help Your Child Sleep Well and Wake Up Happy by Kim West and Joanne Kenen

The Sleep Lady®, Kim West, is the foremost authority on gentle sleep and parenting solutions. She is the best resource Jen Varela knows for pediatric sleep issues. Working with Kim to get her Gentle Sleep Coach Certification has been a true privilege for Jen. Under Kim’s tutelage in Baltimore, they spent a great deal of time discussing how to best help families with sleep training—knowledge that Jen applies to every client in her gentle sleep coaching practice. Jen highly recommends exploring Kim’s book, “Good Night, Sleep Tight,” and her website. Especially helpful are articles on topics such as newborn sleep, nap issues, and sleep schedule changes brought on by travel and Daylight Saving Time.

Products

LectroFan Kinder – More Than Just A Sound Machine

Just plug it into any outlet, download the smartphone app, and select gentle, soothing sounds and lights. Using cutting-edge technology and quality, non-looping sounds, the LectroFan Kinder was created by a team of sound engineers, musicians, and a sleep research doctor. We recommend using the Brown Noise options, especially the Box Fan setting, and the amber nightlight color to help create an environment for optimum sleep.

Sleep Aids

Wonder Bumpers http://www.gomamagodesigns.com
Arms Reach Co-Sleeper Bassinette https://www.armsreach.com
Magic Sleep Suit https://www.magicsleepsuit.com
Halo Sleep Sack https://www.halosleep.com
Blackout EZ Window Covers https://www.blackoutez.com
Consumer Product Safety https://www.cpsc.gov

Websites & Apps

SIDS AMERICA www.sidsamerica.org
Safe Co-Sleeping Guidelines https://www.cpsc.gov/Safety-Education/Safety-Education-Centers/cribs
Crib Safety www.aap.org
American Academy of Pediatrics www.sidsamerica.org

Postpartum Support

Birth Education Center http://www.birtheducationcenter.com
Postpartum Health Alliance https://postpartumhealthalliance.org/
Postpartum Support International http://www.postpartum.net

Breastfeeding

Kelly Mom https://kellymom.com
La Leche League International http://www.llc.ca
Dr. Jack Newman http://www.breastfeedinginc.ca
Babies in Bloom https://babies-in-bloom.myshopify.com
Infant Reflux http://www.infantreflux.org

Parenting Resources

Wonder Weeks https://www.thewonderweeks.com/wonder-weeks-apps/
New Mommy Media http://www.newmommymedia.com
Move Play Grow https://www.moveplaygrow.com
Voila Montessori https://www.voilamontessori.com/en/
Time-In ToolKit https://genmindful.com/collections/time-in-toolkit
Mindfully Empowered http://mindfullyempowered.com/about/
Healthy Births, Happy Babies http://drjaywarren.com/podcast-3/
Back to Top